Contract No:

This document was prepared in conjunction with work accomplished under
Contract No. DE-AC09-08SR22470 with the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
Office of Environmental Management (EM).

Disclaimer:

This work was prepared under an agreement with and funded by the U.S.
Government. Neither the U. S. Government or its employees, nor any of its
contractors, subcontractors or their employees, makes any express or implied:

1) warranty or assumes any legal liability for the accuracy, completeness, or
for the use or results of such use of any information, product, or process
disclosed; or

2 ) representation that such use or results of such use would not infringe
privately owned rights; or

3) endorsement or recommendation of any specifically identified commercial
product, process, or service.

Any views and opinions of authors expressed in this work do not necessarily
state or reflect those of the United States Government, or its contractors, or
subcontractors.



A Step-by-Step Guide for South Carolina
Residential Solar Customers

ACT 236, The Distributed Energy Resource Program Act, expanded solar options for residential users in South Carolina, making solar energy
more affordable than ever before. Current costs and incentives are dependent on several factors unique to each resident: the suitability of your home,
your current costs of electricity, your energy provider and whether or not you choose to buy or lease solar. This Step-by-Step Guide intends to clarify
some of these costs and incentives as you consider solar energy for your home.

Step 1. Select Your Energy Provider

SCE&G Duke Energy Santee Cooper

Net Metering 1:1 through 2025 1:1 through 2025 1:1

Availability

Upfront Rebate None $1/W (dc) rebate $1.30/W (dc) rebate up to 4kW

Availability

Excess Energy 1:1 (first come first serve basis) | 1:1, accrued excess energy credits | $0.0388/kWh

Buy-back are zeroed & paid to customer at

utility’s avoided cost once yearly
(~4-5 ¢ per kwh)

Other Incentives Annual payment at avoided None First 500 customers receive an
cost during November billing additional $0.04/kWh for three
cycle. All generation will receive years
an incentive according to a
capacity based step down
chart.

Community Solar | Yes Yes, to be available in 2017 Yes

Interconnection $100 residential $100 residential $100 residential and

Application Fee $250 non-residential $250 non-residential $4.40/kW fixed monthly fee
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— \\ ~ Step 2. Consider Buying or

Buying? Leasing Leasing?

e You rent a renewable energy
system from a solar leasing
company over a period of time.
Normally done through monthly
payments.

e Typically not responsible for
upkeep costs.

e You are responsible for the
lease if you move. You will
either need to buy the lease out
or transfer to the new
homeowner.

e You pay for the entire solar
system up front or finance
through a loan.

e As the owner you assume
responsibility for damages
and maintenance costs.

Step 3. Factor in Tax Credits Step 4. Learn More

www.solar.sc.gov
www.scsolarcouncil.org
www.sceg.com/solar
www.duke-energy.com/south-
vy carolina/renewable-energy/solar.as
~= = SC State Tax: Additional 25% of total cost of system. w“/,w_santeecoopefcvc{m ) P
— Maximum benefit is either $3,500 or 50% of your tax distributedgeneration

liability for that year, which can be taken for 10 years.

Federal Tax: 30% of your system’s total installed cost.
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